Our Team

Chanelle Avison

Chanelle Avison

My name is Chanelle Avison. I am a mother of twins (boy/girl) and an older daughter. The twins were only 2 years old when we decided to sell up in New Zealand and venture to Australia. My husband and I were up for the challenge.

When the twins were 4 years old they were both diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. By that time I was house-bound, isolated and couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. By the time my twins went to school I was going to the movies. It became my respite.

Sensory Movie Day started shortly after. I had strategies already that I had in place for my children, I thought maybe others would like to attend. Little did I realise how big it would get…

I know first-hand how hard it can be going out as a family and being judged or stared at. I knew cost was important and I didn’t want families to have forms and paperwork to fill out. I am passionate about inclusive, non-judgement events and supporting families during the hardest times like School Holidays.

I am also a part-time Disability Support Worker. I have a Certificate III in Community Services and a Certificate IV in Mental Health.

My children are my inspiration and I’ve met so many wonderful families along the way.

Leah Keating

Leah Keating

My name is Leah Keating. I have over 15 years of experience working in various educational facilities, working with many children on the Autism Spectrum and other challenges. During those years I have also been a respite carer, looking after children with special needs. and of resent years working with the aging community especially those living with Dementia.

I currently hold a Certificate IV in Disability, Certificate III in Education Support, Certificate IV in Training and Assessment, Certificate III Individual Support (age care)

I love working with children on the Autism Spectrum and have a great passion to bring awareness of Autism and other disabilities to the community.

After joining Chanelle in 2013 with Sensory Movie Day, the drive was to then give these children opportunities to try many different activities that they may otherwise not try or get the opportunity to try.

On a personal note: I am married and a mother of two. I love to go to yoga and Pilates, love to catch up with family and friends. I love my coffee but also don’t mind a wine.